Week 7

Philadelphia 3-Step Cheesecake Review

This is my review for Philadelphia 3- step Cheesecake from Kraft Recipes website. I will be breaking down the recipe into categories for my review: Prep Time, Cook Time, Ingredients, and Overall Review.

Prep Time:

The original recipe said 10 minutes prep time. I would say that this is accurate. The prep for this was very simple. All you had to do was mix the four ingredients. I was out of town this weekend, so I had to use my mother-in-law’s hand mixer. It was not the best, and the batter got stuck in it. My own hand mixer would have mixed it easier. You can also hand mix it, but the cream cheese is pretty dense, so it would take longer to mix by hand.

Cook Time:

The original recipe said cook time was 40 minutes. That was also accurate. I have never made cheesecake before, so I wasn’t sure when it would be done. After 40 minutes, it still looked like liquid (wet), but it was hard, and my mother-in-law said it looked done. It isn’t done until it is chilled, however. I let it cool for about fifteen minutes before putting it in the fridge for three hours. Total time from start to finish is 4 hours and 10 minutes.

Ingredients:

The cheesecake recipe asked for a pre-made graham cracker crust. I followed the recipe, but there are tons of different crumb crusts you can use. When I was at the grocery store, they had many brands for graham cracker crust. I got the original Keebler brand; they also had low fat options. When I was looking at cheesecake recipes, I found many varieties of crust crumbs (chocolate sandwich cookies, gingersnaps, and vanilla wafers). You can use whatever you like best and you can always make your own crust as well. When I bought the crust, the recipe asked for a 6 oz. crust, but I bought a 9 oz. one. It looked like the batter wouldn’t be enough for the crust, but once it cooked, the batter raised and it fit just fine. Another thing I want to mention is the cream cheese needs to be softened to mix. I took it out of the fridge about ten minutes before I made the batter, so it warmed up and was easy to mix. When it is too cold, it is pretty hard to stir and mix it with the other ingredients. Toppers can be whatever you want for your cheesecake. Some people like their cheesecake plain; some like fruit glaze. For my recipe, I bought fresh fruit that we like and some cool whip.

Overall Review:

This is hard for me to give a review for because I don’t like the taste of cheesecake. I can really only rate the recipe itself. To make it was very simple! When I look at cheesecake, it looks like it would be hard to make, but it was easy and quick to make. I didn’t like the wait time of letting it chill in the fridge because I wanted to serve it as soon as it was done cooking. I will say it looks so much more appetizing when it does have time to chill. It also looked delicious with the fresh fruit on it. When I was cutting the pieces, I thought it would be more dense, but it was so smooth and easy to slice through. My fiancé, and his parents were my taste testers and they said it was wonderful. My fiancé absolutely loves cheesecake and he was very impressed with this recipe. He also didn’t realize how easy it was to make and says, “Since it’s so easy to make, you should make this all the time.” I think this recipe was a hit!

IMG_6117

Leave a Reply

