Week 6

Grilled Mexican Lime Chicken Recipe Review

This is my review for Grilled Mexican Lime Chicken from Food.com website. I will be breaking down the recipe into categories for my review: Prep Time, Cook Time, Ingredients, and Overall Review.

Prep Time:

The original recipe didn’t give a prep time except to say ready in 2 hours and 20 minutes. I marinated my chicken for two hours like the recipe said. Some people like to marinade the night before making a meal. I don’t think it matters, but you want to make sure it has enough time to let the chicken soak in the marinade to get all that flavor. Mixing the ingredients for the marinade took about two minutes. Draining the chicken from the marinade and heating the grill took about fifteen minutes. I think prep time, without cooking is about 2 hours and 20 minutes.

Cook Time:

As I said in prep time, the recipe didn’t take into consideration the actual cooking of the chicken. The recipe just said, “cook until done”. I don’t like when the recipe doesn’t give a cook time. I wanted to include everything about my cook time so beginners know exactly what to do. Heating up the grill takes a little time. Once the grill was heated, chicken takes about 4-5 minutes on each side to cook. There shouldn’t be any pink in the chicken when you cut it open. Cook time of the actual meal is only 10 minutes, but it takes the grill around 10-15 minutes to get to the right temp. Servings were 4-6. I made four breasts, but the marinade could definitely be enough for 6.

Ingredients:

The only thing that was remotely a little work to do in this recipe was to get fresh lime juice. I’ve heard of people just buying lime or lemon juice for their recipes. It probably is easier and less messy, but the recipe said fresh, so I made fresh juice. I have seen handheld juicers for this job. I personally have never used one, so I don’t know if it’s worth it to own one or not. They say it makes squeezing the lime fully much easier. It’s a little tough to squeeze the lime fully. (Full disclosure: I had my fiancé squeeze the last bit of juice when I couldn’t squeeze it any harder). The recipe called for ¼ cup lime juice. I didn’t know how many limes that was so I had to research the conversions. It depends on how big or small your lime is, but the rule of thumb is for every lime, there are 2 tbs of juice. There are 16 tbs in a cup, so for ¼ cup, you would need 4 tbs or 2 limes.

Overall Review:

I absolutely loved this recipe! I would say it has been my easiest recipe thus far. I knew it would be good because it combined my two favorite things: chicken and grilling. I always say that things just taste better on the grill. My fiancé makes chicken quite a bit on the grill, but we usually just grill it plain. The marinade gave that extra zing I feel like chicken needs sometimes. The lime gave it a little tang flavoring, without being too tart and the chili powder gave it a little spice to it. I told my fiancé we are probably never going to be able to go back to plain grilled chicken again. When we make grilled chicken, we usually pair it with some sort of vegetable. After tasting this chicken, I think you could make different meals with it too. I thought it would be perfect in a salad and I thought the chicken had enough flavoring, it wouldn’t even need dressing! I also got the idea for using the chicken sliced up for tacos from a recipe reviewer comment on the original recipe. A little tip: when looking into recipes, also read recipe comments to not only see if others liked it, but some people put things they tried with it or substituted that you might like better. I really liked the taco idea and will most definitely try it out.

Leave a Reply

