Week 5

Hard- Boiled Eggs

I’m sure if you just google “how to boil hard-boiled eggs” a million results pop up. There are so many different “techniques” to create the “perfect hard- boiled egg”. I have always sworn by the way I do it, and my eggs always seem easy to peel. I decided since it’s egg week, I would give my recipe for hard-boiled eggs. It might not be the “right” way, but it works for me, so I will just leave it for whoever wants to try it.

The first thing I do is put my eggs in a large pot and fill the pot full of water until all the eggs are covered completely. I add a few shakes of salt to the water. I then boil the water with the eggs on the stove on high heat. (Apparently there is some kind of science that says if you put the eggs in cold water and then boil them with the water, the egg membrane inside fuses together with the shell, making it hard to peel the shell of the egg). I do not believe that because I never boil the water first and my eggs turn out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once the water is boiling, let the eggs boil for at least one minute.  You can turn off the stove and cover the pot with a lid (some people remove the pot from the heat, but I don’t. I just turn the stove off.  I let the eggs sit in the hot water, covered, for 15 minutes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once they have been sitting in the water for 15 minutes, drain the water out, leaving the eggs in the pot. For this post, I removed the eggs and put them in another bowl so you could see the difference, but I usually just drain the water and leave the eggs in the pot for the next step.

I then pour cold water into the bowl (or pot) to fully cover the eggs. The eggs need to be completely cooled. I usually let them sit in cold water for about 1/2 hour because I forget about them. It won’t take them that long to cool. Once the eggs are cooled, you can put them back in their original egg carton and refrigerate them. They last about a week in the fridge.

IMG_5854

This is the final product, peeled off so nicely! I hope you guys enjoy how I like to hard boil eggs.

Leave a Reply

