Week 5

The Basic French Omelette

When I decided to make a week dedicated to eggs, I thought it would be very simple since I eat eggs every day for breakfast. I cook them over hard which unlike the name, is so easy and takes about two minutes. I decided to try a little more complex recipe that I still could handle. I decided on the classic egg breakfast meal; the omelette. I got The Basic French Omelette Recipe from the website The Incredible Egg, which is a website all about the egg. For this recipe, it only includes a few ingredients:

2 eggs

2 tbsp water

1/8 tsp salt

dash of pepper

1 tsp butter

1/3 cup filling, such as shredded cheese or finely chopped ham

IMG_5816

For my omelette, I like cheese, some kind of meat, and pepper. For this omelette, my filling was colby jack cheese, bacon, green pepper, onion, and cubed ham. If you were just going to add cheese and cooked ham, the omelette only takes about five minutes total to make, but since I added more ingredients, I will break it down into the steps I made my omelette. I always make all my filling ingredients first before starting my omelette.

The first thing I did was cut my onion and green pepper. I cut the onion down the middle, cut off the ends, peeled the onion, cut the onion horizontally into 1/4 inch slices. Then I turned the slices vertically and cut them in little pieces.

Then I cut the pepper. First cut off the top and pull it out. Then hit the bottom side of the pepper upside down so all the seeds fall out. It only takes about three or four hits to knock of most, if not all, the seeds. Once the seeds are out, cut the pepper in 1/4 pieces. From there, cut the pepper into less than 1/2 inch vertical slices. Then group the slices together and cut into horizontal slices, for small pieces. I cut the entire onion and pepper, but if you are just making one serving, you only need a few slices of onion and a few slices of pepper.

You can buy pre-cooked chunks of ham at the store. I use pre-cooked ham because then all you have to do is warm it up in your omelette. Never used uncooked ham when just adding it to your omelette. Chop 1/4-1/2 inch slices off the pre-cooked ham. Cut the lengthwise to similar thickness, then across in similar thickness for even cubes. I cut about 6 ham slices to put into the omelets. You really only need about one slice for one omelette.

You can then cook your onion and pepper. I put a tbs of butter in a medium pan and turn to low medium. Add the veggies to the pan, cover the pan, stirring occasionally until the onion is translucent. It takes about 20 minutes.

While the veggies are cooking, spread bacon out in a cold pan, turn to medium heat, flipping occasionally. Place on paper towel lined plate when they get to your desired crunchiness. I like my bacon very crunchy with little fat. My fiancé likes his more fatty. The bacon strips in the middle usually get done before the pieces on the edges. Once you remove the middle ones, move other to the middle. Cooking the bacon takes about 10-15 minutes depending on how well done you like them. Once the bacon cools, you can cut the strips horizontally into little pieces. I cooked 6 pieces of bacon. One slice would be fine for one omelette, but you can always use more (or just have cooked bacon to eat plain like I did).

Once the filling is all cooked, then you can get your eggs. The original recipe asked for 2 eggs, but I use three eggs for my omelets. I add my eggs to a bowl and add a tbs of milk instead of water (I think it makes the eggs fluffier). You also add your salt and pepper. You whisk them together until mixed. You want even color in your egg mixture.

I then heated 1 tbs of butter to my pan over medium high heat. I then poured in my egg mixture. Like the original directions say:

GENTLY PUSH cooked portions from edges toward the center with inverted turner so that uncooked eggs can reach the hot pan surface. CONTINUE cooking, tilting pan and gently moving cooked portions as needed.When top surface of eggs is thickened and no visible liquid egg remains, PLACE filling on one side of the omelet.

It takes about 2 minutes until the surface is thickened. Once it is, I sprinkled my cheese on top first. When the cheese melts, I added my onion, pepper, bacon, and ham. I use my spatula to flip over one half to the other. I let it sit in the pan for another minute just to warm up my ham.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I like to add a little more pepper and salt to my finished product, but you don’t have to. Your omelette is now ready to serve immediately. I hope you enjoy my twist on The Basic French Omelette. Bon Appetit!

IMG_5804

 

Leave a Reply

